PDA

View Full Version : Sorry if this is dumb but- what is...


Endora
09-07-2002, 12:25 PM
What is SPAM COP?

I recieved this email saying that this company is getting reports that I am spamming people...which I am not.

I am guessing this is a BS gimmick to get me to buy their "anti-spam" software (right)... However, I am not sure... the email reads:

"Close any open relays on your network, enforce a spamcop.net approved anti spam/A.U.P. (Acceptable Use Policy), and shut down all abusive users. This is your second warning... The next complaint we receive from any user, YOUR NETWORK WILL BE BLOCKED."

What's up with that???

Clearly- I am NOT sending these mails.... however, since I really don't know if this is something legitimate- I am posting it here for those who are more in the know and can explain...

Thank you.
Endora

Steven
09-07-2002, 01:50 PM
From Spamcop.net website.

Spamcop spam is forged
Starting appoximately 12 noon EST 06 Aug 2002, and cointinuing again Aug 12th and Sep 7th, spam purporting to be from spamcop.net/julianhaight.com began being sent in an attempt to 'get spamcop in trouble'. This is a standard spammer tactic (joe job).

These messages were not sent by spamcop, and the claims made in them are false. Please disregard the email and/or block the originating IP address - 64.70.191.50

Please do not block mail from julianhaight.com or spamcop.net. If you cannot block by IP address, it is safe to block the origin email addresses, ( 'spam.reporting@reports.spamcop.net', 'abuse@julianhaight.com', 'webmaster@julianhaight.com', 'webmaster@spamcop.net', 'abuse@spamcop.net', 'jkdom@mail.julianhaight.com', 'joker-com@julianhaight.com') as no legitimate mail should be sent from these.

If you would like to contact someone at spamcop about this, you can send email to deputies@admin.spamcop.net. But please refrain from doing so. We are aware of the problem, and we are doing what we can to limit the damage. Unfortunately, since we're not responsible for sending it, there is little we can do to stop it.

- SpamCop mgmt.

-Steven

Endora
09-07-2002, 02:47 PM
Hmmm... Thanks Steven.

Curiously- the email is identical to their website- and links to their website.... and includes the "julian" contact as well....

Why someone would want to go through all that on behalf of spamcop (purportedly against them I presume) is beyond me.

Thanks for the 411.
I shall disregard all mail from "spamcop".

However, it is probably good this is here anyway for others who may have had the same question I did....

Endora
;)

Tal
09-08-2002, 08:52 AM
just so you know there are many people getting these messages, simply ignore them as it is a hoax.